Advocacy Award Logo

Nominations for the 2021 Award for Advocacy are Closed

Congratulations to Susan Wertz, B.S., R.R.A., R.T.(R)(CV)(M) and the Missouri Society of Radiologic Technologists.

The ASRT Award for Advocacy recognizes an individual and an affiliate society for outstanding advocacy efforts on behalf of the radiologic science community. The 2021 award recognizes advocacy efforts conducted between October 1, 2019 and September 30, 2020.

This award acknowledges achievements in various advocacy efforts, including overall growth and development of individual and affiliate advocacy involvement. Award recipients are selected by the ASRT Committee on R.T. Advocacy from nominations submitted by ASRT members.

The 2021 individual winner will receive $250 and the affiliate society winner will receive $500. The Awards for Advocacy will be presented during the 2021 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting.


The individual nominated must be a current ASRT member and the nominated affiliate society must meet all affiliate compliance requirements.

Committee on R.T. Advocacy Region Leaders are not eligible to be nominated.

Past recipients of the awards are only eligible for nomination every three years.

Advocacy efforts for nominees occurred between October 1, 2019 and September 30, 2020.


The Committee on R.T. Advocacy reviews nominations and sends its recommendation to the ASRT Board for final award winner selections.

For questions about the award, contact

Past Award Recipients

  • 2021

    Affiliate Society Winner Missouri
    Individual Winner Susan Wertz, B.S., R.R.A., R.T.(R)(CV)(M)
  • 2020

    Affiliate Society Winner Minnesota
    Individual Winners Jennifer Clayton, M.B.A., R.T.(R)(CT)
    Nicholas Gimmi, M.H.A., R.T.(R)(CT), CRA
  • 2019

    Affiliate Society Winner Nevada
    Individual Winner Diane Hutton, B.A., R.T.(R)
  • 2018

    Affiliate Society Winner Pennsylvania
    Individual Winner Brian Rich, B.S.R.S., R.T.(R)(CT)
  • 2017

    Affiliate Society Winners Kentucky
    New Hampshire
    Individual Winners Brandy Cusson, R.T.(R)
    Patricia Willett, B.S., R.T.(R)(CT)
  • 2016

    Affiliate Society Winners Massachussetts
    North Dakota
    Individual Winners Ann Bell-Pfeifer, B.S., R.T.(R)(M)(QM)
    Brenda Greenberg, R.T.(R)(CT), CIIP
  • 2015

    Affiliate Society Winner California
    Individual Winner Chad Hensley, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(MR)
  • 2013

    Affiliate Society Winner Ohio
    Individual Winner Jonathan Mazal, M.S., R.R.A., R.T.(R)(MR)
  • 2012

    Affiliate Society Winner Kentucky
    Individual Winner Steve Cohen, R.T.(R)
  • 2011

    Affiliate Society Winner Virginia
    Individual Winner Bernadette Garofola, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(T)(CT), FASRT
  • 2010

    Affiliate Society Winner California
    Individual Winner Lorenza Clausen, R.T.(R)(CT)(MR), CRT
  • 2009

    Affiliate Society Winner Ohio
    Individual Winner David Hill, R.T.(R), RDMS
  • 2008

    Affiliate Society Winner Wisconsin
    Individual Winner Kimberly Robert, M.B.A., R.T.(R)
  • 2007

    Affiliate Society Winner North Carolina
    Individual Winners Tom Davis, R.T.(R)(CT)
    David LeClair, B.S., R.T.(R)
  • 2006

    Affiliate Society Winner South Dakota
    Individual Winner Gary Duehring, Ph.D, R.T.(R)(MR), CRA, FASRT, FAHRA
  • 2005

    Affiliate Society Winner Illinois
    Individual Winner Catherine Kukec, B.M.E., R.T.(R)(M)(QM), FASRT
  • 2004

    Affiliate Society Winner Tennessee
    Individual Winner Sharon Wartenbee, R.T.(R)(BC), CBDT, FASRT
  • 2003

    Affiliate Society Winner Missouri
    Individual Winner Diane Mayo, R.T.(R)(CT), FASRT