News Room

News, Research and Publications
News Room

  • News Releases

Distinguished Author Award Winners Named

Apr 24, 2024

The ASRT has announced the recipients of its distinguished author awards, recognizing the best peer-reviewed articles published in ASRT’s scientific journals in 2023. Presented annually, the awards are chosen by members of each journal’s respective Editorial Review Board after a comprehensive review of all scholarly articles published in the journals during the previous calendar year.

The Radiologic Technology Distinguished Author Award in Honor of Jean I. Widger goes to Asher Street Beam, D.H.A., R.T.(R)(MR), MRSO; Chelsea Palmer Stephens, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(N), CNMT; Charlotte Taylor, M.D.; Jessie Bentley, M.S., R.T.(R)(MR); Allison Crane Gonzalez, M.S., R.T.(R)(MR); Maneet Marwaha, M.S., R.T.(R)(MR); Drake Riley, M.S., R.T.(R)(MR); and Cassandra Wade, M.S., R.T.(R)(MR). Their article, “Imaging and Demographic Risk Factors in the Diagnosis of Pediatric Nonaccidental Trauma,” was published in the July/August 2023 issue of Radiologic Technology.

Dr. Street Beam is director of the master of science in magnetic resonance imaging program and associate professor for the department of radiologic sciences at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, School of Health Related Professions. Dr. Stephens is director of the master of science in nuclear medicine technology program and assistant professor for the department of radiologic sciences at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, School of Health Related Professions. Dr. Taylor is director for the diagnostic radiology residency program and associate director for the neuroradiology fellowship program for the department of radiology at the University of Mississippi Medical Center. Bentley, Gonzalez, Marwaha, Riley and Wade are graduates of the master of science in magnetic resonance imaging program at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, School of Health Related Professions.

The goal of their case study was to describe and discuss a case in which the patient received a diagnosis of severe head trauma that resulted in death. Imaging findings, along with discrepancies in the parental explanation of the incident, aided the forensic investigators to identify the case as nonaccidental trauma. Identifying demographic risk factors and performing proper clinical evaluations can serve an important role in the diagnosis of pediatric NAT. Imaging modalities such as radiography, computed tomography and magnetic resonance imaging can help determine the extent of trauma. The authors concluded that to help prevent future cases of abuse, medical professionals should be fluent in identifying differences between accidental and NAT. Using multiple imaging modalities, NAT in pediatric patients can be identified and treated adequately.

In addition, this year the Radiation Therapist Distinguished Author Award in Honor of Harold Silverman goes to Timothy Catalano, M.A., R.T.(T); Jennifer Thompson, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(QM); Heather L. Phillips, Ph.D., MLS, MT; Eleanor Jator, Ph.D., MT; Oghenetega Adogbeji, M.S.; Callistus Obunadike, M.S.; Robin Latchem, M.S., MLS; Blessing Osadare, M.S.; and Tameka Gooden, M.S., MT, for their article, “Exploring the Need for Clinical Preceptor Training in Radiation Therapy,” which was published in the spring 2023 issue of Radiation Therapist.

Catalano is quality and safety coordinator for radiation oncology at Duke University. He was an assistant professor in radiation therapy at Austin Peay State University during the writing and research portion of the article. Dr. Thompson is the radiography program director and associate professor for Austin Peay State University. She has served numerous leadership roles with the Tennessee affiliate and serves on the Tennessee Board of Radiologic Imaging and Radiation Therapy, advocating for patients and technologists. Dr. Phillips is professor of medical laboratory science and director of laboratory testing for Austin Peay State University. Dr. Jator is professor of medical laboratory science and education coordinator for the medical laboratory scientist and phlebotomy programs at Austin Peay State University. Adogbeji holds a master's degree in computer science and quantitative methods from Austin Peay State University. Presently, he works as a data scientist at one of the nation's premier automobile giants. Obunadike has three Master of Science degrees including groundwater management, sustainable mining engineering and computer science. He recently co-founded a tech start-up called YoungGlobalTech LLC, which aims to empower young people with data analytical skills. Latchem is assistant professor in the department of medical and clinical lab sciences at Auburn University at Montgomery in Alabama. Osadare was a graduate student at Austin Peay State University in Clarksville during the study. She currently is a software engineer for Nordstrom. Gooden is a former employee of Baptist Health Sciences University in Memphis, Tennessee.

The goal of their original research study was to examine whether radiation therapist clinical preceptors are trained as educators, to evaluate clinical preceptors’ perspectives on clinical preceptor training and to determine the need to develop a more robust form of clinical preceptor training in radiation therapy. They found that clinical preceptors need and want more training for their roles and more communication with education programs. A standardized training platform is suggested because of the varying learning cultures in clinics and individual preceptors’ different educational backgrounds and experiences.

The Widger award is named after long-time Radiologic Technology editor Jean I. Widger. The Silverman award is named in honor of radiation therapist Harold Silverman, an advocate for accreditation of radiation therapy educational programs.

The ASRT will honor the recipients at the Honors Evening on June 28 at the ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting.