News Room

News, Research and Publications
News Room

  • ASRT Announcement

ASRT Announces 2023 Election Results

Mar 13, 2023

Members of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists have elected four officers to serve on the 2023-2024 ASRT Board of Directors.

Heather Moore

Heather Moore, Ph.D., R.T.(R), was elected to serve as president-elect. Dr. Moore is the academic unit head and professor, allied health at the University of Cincinnati. Dr. Moore currently serves as vice president on the ASRT Board.

Daniel DeMaio

Daniel DeMaio, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(CT), was elected to serve as vice president. DeMaio is an associate professor and director of the radiologic technology program at the University of Hartford in Connecticut. DeMaio currently serves as speaker of the House on the ASRT Board.

Joseph Whitton

Joseph Whitton, M.S., R.T.(R)(CT)(MR), FASRT, was elected to serve as secretary. Whitton is the clinical assistant professor/program director, radiography & MRI, at Stony Brook University in New York. Whitton previously served as speaker of the House and vice speaker of the House on the ASRT Board.

Marissa Mangrum

Marissa Mangrum, M.S.R.S., R.T.(T), was elected to serve as treasurer. Mangrum is a program director/assistant professor, medical imaging and radiation sciences, at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City. Mangrum currently serves as secretary on the ASRT Board.

The new officers will begin their one-year terms after the 2023 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting, June 22-25.

President-elect Brandon A. Smith, M.B.A., M.S.R.S., R.T.(R)(VI), CIIP, will be elevated to ASRT president for the 2023-2024 term, and President Daniel L. Gonzales, M.S.R.S., R.T.(R), FASRT, will be elevated to chair of the Board.

Voters also elected 28 chapter delegates. Terms for the newly elected chapter delegates will begin July 1, 2023. See a complete list of the newly elected chapter delegates here.

More than 1,900 ASRT members cast votes for officer and delegate candidates in the 2023 ASRT election. Polls were open from Feb. 14 to March 7. Survey & Ballot Systems, an independent election management service based in Minnesota, managed the election process and independently certified the results of the balloting.

Meet Your Elected Candidates