•    ASRT is implementing enhanced online security. Click here for a video explaining how to log in.
News Room

News, Research and Publications
News Room

  • ASRT Announcement
  • ASRT Foundation

ASRT Foundation Announces Education and Professional Growth Grants Recipients

Oct 23, 2019

Fifty ASRT members have been named to receive funds to support continuing education and professional development in the Advancing Your Profession: Education and Professional Growth Grants program.

The grant program is funded by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists to support the professional and educational advancement of medical imaging technologists and radiation therapists. Funds are intended to reimburse recipients for the cost of CE, educational conferences or products, or ARRT primary or secondary certification exams and affiliate society membership expense.

Grant recipients submitted short essays answering the question: “How does acquiring and maintaining certification improve patient care?”

One recipient, Kimberly Alt, R.T.(R), of Grass Valley, California, answered, in part, “Acquiring and maintaining my own certifications means I am doing the best I can for my patients who rely on me for quality diagnostic images. Having these certifications behind me means I am proving my worth and expertise to someone in need.”

Cynthia Upham, B.S., R.T.(R)(T), of West Linn, Oregon, described it this way, “I view CE not as a burden, but as a great opportunity to educate myself. With the skills and best practices that I learn from articles, seminars and others in the field, I can provide better care to my patients.”

The Foundation selected one recipient per active ASRT state affiliate or local affiliate for the 2019-2020 program. They are:

Sarina Aamold
Kimberly Alt
Stephanie Bailey
Tracy L Bailey
Abigail Berg
Jolynn Blackburn
Chanelle Brewer
Caitlin Byram
Tyler Carter
Nicole Casasanto
Annalisa Cortes
Patty Crowell
Shannon Deines
April Dodge
Amanda Eldert
Rhonda Engebretson
Chelsea Gagnon

Caitlin Johnson
Molly Kiscadon
Shelly Kuhn
Sierra N Lammers
Marissa Mangrum
Stacy Mendes
Meek Myoung
Kristine Noland
Danielle Peirolo
Nicholas Gimmi
Jeanette Govern
Bethany Griffin
Sara Groskreutz
Elaine Halesey
Jeanice Harrison
Jessica Hilburn
Mary Hodson

Ashley Perkins
Courtney Phillips
Jacqueline Pike
Melanie Prakuson-Bierman
Sara Preston
Shanna Quade
Alissa Reese
Donna Reilly
Kayci Robinson
Justin Shelton
Samantha Skubish
Melissa Staggs-Laughrey
Laura M Stottlemyer
Kyrstie Tracy
Cynthia Upham
Julia Wolfe

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty