ASRT Award for Advocacy

The ASRT Award for Advocacy is an honor given to both an individual and an affiliate society for performing outstanding advocacy activities on behalf of the radiologic science community.

This award recognizes achievements in various advocacy efforts, including overall growth and development of individual and affiliate advocacy involvement. Award recipients are selected by the ASRT Committee on R.T. Advocacy Region Leaders from nominations submitted by ASRT members.

The  2018 individual winner will receive $250 and a plaque; the affiliate society winner will receive $500 and a plaque. Awards will be presented during the 2018 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting.


  • The individual nominated must be an ASRT member and the nominated affiliate society must meet all affiliate compliance requirements.
  • Committee on R.T. Advocacy Region Leaders are not eligible to be nominated.
  • Previous recipients of the awards may be nominated three years after receiving the award.


  • The chairman of the Committee on R.T. Advocacy will select judging panels for the awards. Panels will be made up of committee region leaders or regional subcommittee members who were not nominated or have no connection with the nominees. 
  • Judging panels swill receive blinded nomination forms to review and score.
  • Judging panels will use a scoring rubric to determine scores based on the information provided by the individual submitting the nomination to assess the level of involvement or achievement of the nominee in state advocacy or federal advocacy activities.
Nominations for the 2018 ASRT Award for Advocacy are now closed.

For questions about the award, contact the ASRT Government Relations Department or call 800-444-2778. 

Past Award Recipients

  • 2018

    Affiliate Society Winners Pennsylvania
    Individual Winners Brian Rich, B.S.R.S., R.T.(R)(CT)
  • 2017

    Affiliate Society Winners Kentucky
    New Hampshire
    Individual Winners Brandy Cusson, R.T.(R)
    Patricia Willett, B.S., R.T.(R)(CT)
  • 2016

    Affiliate Society Winners Massachussetts
    North Dakota
    Individual Winners Ann Bell-Pfeifer, B.S., R.T.(R)(M)(QM)
    Brenda Greenberg, R.T.(R)(CT), CIIP
  • 2015

    Affiliate Society Winner California
    Individual Winner Chad Hensley, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(MR)
  • 2013

    Affiliate Society Winner Ohio
    Individual Winner Jonathan Mazal, M.S., R.R.A., R.T.(R)(MR)
  • 2012

    Affiliate Society Winner Kentucky
    Individual Winner Steve Cohen, R.T.(R)
  • 2011

    Affiliate Society Winner Virginia
    Individual Winner Bernadette Garofola, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(T)(CT), FASRT
  • 2010

    Affiliate Society Winner California
    Individual Winner Lorenza Clausen, R.T.(R)(CT)(MR), CRT
  • 2009

    Affiliate Society Winner Ohio
    Individual Winner David Hill, R.T.(R), RDMS
  • 2008

    Affiliate Society Winner Wisconsin
    Individual Winner Kimberly Robert, M.B.A., R.T.(R)
  • 2007

    Affiliate Society Winner North Carolina
    Individual Winners Tom Davis, R.T.(R)(CT)
    David LeClair, B.S., R.T.(R)
  • 2006

    Affiliate Society Winner South Dakota
    Individual Winner Gary Duehring, Ph.D, R.T.(R)(MR), CRA, FASRT, FAHRA
  • 2005

    Affiliate Society Winner Illinois
    Individual Winner Catherine Kukec, B.M.E., R.T.(R)(M)(QM), FASRT
  • 2004

    Affiliate Society Winner Tennessee
    Individual Winner Sharon Wartenbee, R.T.(R)(BC), CBDT, FASRT
  • 2003

    Affiliate Society Winner Missouri
    Individual Winner Diane Mayo, R.T.(R)(CT), FASRT