• News Releases

ASRT Names 2018 Life Member and Fellows

Mar 13, 2018

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists will award Life Member status to one member and bestow the status of Fellow on two members during the upcoming ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting in Las Vegas in June.

The Society’s newest Life Member is Sharon Wartenbee, R.T.(R)(BD), CBDT, FASRT. Fellows elevation goes to Melissa B. Jackowski, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(M), and Tricia Leggett, D.H.Ed., R.T.(R)(QM).

Sharon Wartenbee, R.T.(R)(BD), CBDT, FASRT, is the 34th ASRT member to receive Life Member status. Established in 1938, Life Member status applies to active ASRT members who have maintained continuous membership for at least 30 years and have participated in a wide range of volunteer activities that demonstrate dedication to the ASRT and the radiologic technology profession. Candidates who receive the honor are selected by at least a three-quarters vote of the ASRT Board of Directors.

Wartenbee is the senior diagnostic and bone densitometry technologist at Avera Medical Group McGreevy in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. Backed by a radiologic science career that spans more than 45 years, Wartenbee joined the Society in 1987 and was named an ASRT Fellow in 2009. She currently is a member of the ASRT Practice Standards Council, representing the bone densitometry practice area, and has served in the Society’s House of Delegates for multiple terms. For her legislative efforts, Wartenbee received the ASRT Award for Outstanding Grass-Roots Advocacy in 2004. Wartenbee also is active at the international level, where she serves as the regional director for the Americas and as a member of the board of directors representing the Americas for the International Society of Radiographers and Radiological Technologists. She also is a former board member of the International Society for Clinical Densitometry and was named the ISCD 2010 Technologist of the Year.

The ASRT established the honorary Fellow category in 1956 to recognize members who have made outstanding contributions to the profession and ASRT. Fellows have volunteered in leadership positions at the national and local levels, written articles for publication, presented at professional meetings and helped advance the radiologic technology profession.

Melissa B. Jackowski, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(M), currently serves as president-elect of the ASRT's Board of Directors and will become president following the 2018 Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting. Dr. Jackowski is the competency management development specialist at Siemens Healthineers – CX SV USA Customer Service Organization in Cary, North Carolina. She served in various roles at the North Carolina Society of Radiologic Technologists, including president in 2005-2006. Dr. Jackowski’s educational credentials also include her many lectures at professional society conferences. She has served in several capacities on the ASRT Board of Directors and has been a member of the Society since 1998.

Tricia Leggett, D.H.Ed., R.T.(R)(QM), is director of instructional design and technology for the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. She formerly served on the faculty of the radiologic technology program at Zane State College in Zanesville, Ohio, and was a contributing author to the Radiographic Pathology for Technologists textbook for the fifth, sixth and seventh editions. An ASRT member since 1988, Dr. Leggett served on ASRT's Radiologic Technology Editorial Review Board for 10 years and participated in several ASRT workgroups and committees. In addition, Dr. Leggett’s leadership with the Ohio Society of Radiologic Technologists includes nearly a decade of service on its board of directors.

ASRT membership will recognize the recipients at the Honors Evening ceremony at the annual governance meeting in Las Vegas on June 22.

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty