• ASRT Announcement

ASRT Names 2017 Life Members and Fellows

Apr 04, 2017

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists will award Life Member status to three members and bestow the status of Fellow on two members during the ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting in Orlando, Florida, June 22-25, 2017.

The Society’s newest Life Members are Bernadette E. Garofola, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(T)(CT) FASRT; Robert J. Walker, Ph.D., R.T.(R)(MR)(CT)(QM), FASRT; and G. Tim Wescott, A.A.S., A.B.S., R.T.(R), FASRT. Fellows are Michael Latimer, M.S.R.S., R.T.(R), and Allen C. Terrell, M.S., R.T.(R)(MR).

Garofola, Walker and Wescott are the 31st, 32nd and 33rd ASRT members to be elevated to Life Member status. Established in 1938, Life Members are active ASRT members who have maintained continuous membership for at least 30 years and have participated in a wide range of volunteer activities that demonstrate dedication to the ASRT and the radiologic technology profession. Candidates who receive the honor are selected by at least a three-quarters vote of the ASRT Board of Directors.

Bernadette E. Garofola, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(T)(CT), FASRT, is recently retired as chief radiation therapist at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia. Backed by a radiologic science career that spans more than 30 years, Garofola has participated in ASRT volunteer activities since she joined the Society in 1986. In addition to serving terms as a delegate for the Radiation Therapy and Management chapters, she has been a member of a number of ASRT communities including the Committee on R.T. Advocacy, Committee on Bylaws and Committee on Nominations. In 2011, she was named an ASRT Fellow and was honored with the ASRT Award for Outstanding Grass-roots Advocacy.

Robert J. Walker, Ph.D., R.T.(R)(MR)(CT)(QM), FASRT, is department chair and the Dumke Endowed Chair at Weber State University in Ogden, Utah. Under his leadership, Weber State became one of the first universities in the U.S. to launch a Master of Science in Radiologic Sciences program. A member since 1975, he has served in every capacity on the ASRT Board of Directors and was named a Fellow in 1992. Dr. Walker is an author and speaker, and has received numerous national awards for his leadership and innovation in educational practices.

G. Tim Wescott, A.A.S., A.B.S., R.T.(R), FASRT, is recently retired as director of cardiovascular services at MidMichigan Medical Center in Midland, Michigan. His sustained commitment to the ASRT during his nearly 40-year membership includes service on the Board of Directors and as a delegate; in leadership positions on numerous committees; and his elevation to ASRT Fellow in 2007. He also has served in virtually every position of leadership with the Michigan Society of Radiologic Technologists, where he is a Life Member. Wescott is well regarded for his professional integrity and for his commitment to mentoring students and technologists.

The ASRT established the honorary Fellow category in 1956 to recognize members who have made outstanding contributions to the profession and to ASRT. Fellows have volunteered in leadership positions at the national and local levels, written articles for publication, presented at professional meetings and helped advance the radiologic science profession.

Michael Latimer, M.S.R.S., R.T.(R), currently serves as president of the ASRT and will become chairman of the Board of Directors following the 2017 Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting. Latimer, a native of Santa Fe, New Mexico, is an associate professor in the radiography program at Palm Beach State College in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. As a radiographer and instructor, he served for more than 20 years as a U.S. Navy Hospital Corpsman. Latimer’s educational credentials also include his many lectures at professional society conferences. He has served in several capacities on the Board of Directors and has been a member of ASRT since 1997.

Allen C. Terrell, M.S., R.T.(R)(MR), is operations manager of Central Mississippi Diagnostics, a magnetic resonance imaging center in Flowood, Mississippi. He has been a member since 1984 and has previously served in many significant volunteer leadership roles, including terms as president and chairman of the ASRT Board of Directors. Terrell has spoken to many groups on the subject of MRI safety. In the Mississippi Society of Radiologic Technologists, Terrell has also served in numerous positions of leadership and has twice been named MSRT’s Technologist of the Year.

The ASRT membership will honor the recipients at the Honors Evening Event at the annual governance meeting in Orlando, Florida, on June 24.

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty