• Press Releases

Grass-roots Advocacy Award Winners Named

Apr 04, 2016

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists has awarded the 2016 ASRT Award for Outstanding Grass-roots Advocacy to Ann Bell-Pfeifer, B.S., R.T.(R)(M)(QM); Brenda Greenberg, R.T.(R)(CT), CIIP; the Massachusetts Society of Radiologic Technologists and the North Dakota Society of Radiologic Technologists.

Established in 2003, the annual award recognizes ASRT members and affiliate societies for outstanding legislative advocacy efforts on behalf of the radiologic science community.

“It takes passion and commitment to be an effective advocate,” said ASRT President Sandra Hayden, M.A., R.T.(T), FASRT. “The two individuals and the two state societies we are recognizing have successfully pushed for advances in health care legislation by educating lawmakers about patient safety and the need for professional standards for radiologic technologists. Without question, their leadership and perseverance make them all particularly deserving of this award.”

Bell-Pfeifer is the licensure chair of the North Dakota Society of Radiologic Technologists. She led the legislative effort in 2015 that saw North Dakota enact licensing standards for radiologic technologists. During the NDSRT’s legislative campaign, Bell-Pfeifer secured bill support from allied professional organizations, large hospitals and institutional health care providers. In addition, she kept stakeholders informed with extensive communication efforts that included statewide conference calls and regular email updates.

As the legislative chair of the North Carolina Society of Radiologic Technologists, Greenberg spearheaded efforts to introduce licensure bills in the North Carolina Senate and House. She also led the way to include a legislative measure that would require the North Carolina Radiation Commission to establish an advisory board to investigate revising existing regulations to include radiologic technologists. She also coordinated the society’s 2015 R.T. in Raleigh legislative day in the state capitol and has spoken at numerous schools and other gatherings to promote for the profession.

Through the persistence of the Massachusetts Society of Radiologic Technologists, radiologist assistants and computed tomography technologists were added to the radiologic science professions regulated by the state’s Department of Public Health. The MSRT was also recognized for the strong relationships it created with Massachusetts state legislators and its efforts to mitigate encroachment issues by monitoring legislative activity related to allied health care professions.

The successful grass-roots efforts of the North Dakota Society of Radiologic Technologists resulted in the law that sets licensing standards for the state’s radiographers, radiation therapists, radiologist assistants, nuclear medicine technologists and sonographers. The NDSRT's efforts to inform lawmakers included educational events in Bismarck and an evening social with legislators to discuss the need for licensure and how it would benefit the state.

Bell-Pfeifer and Greenberg will each receive $250 and a recognition plaque, while the MSRT and NDSRT will each receive $500 and a recognition plaque. The awards will be presented at the 2016 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting to be held in Las Vegas, June 23-26.

To learn more about nominating a colleague or affiliate for the 2017 award, contact Syd Sanders at ssanders@asrt.org or 800-444-2778, Ext. 1322.

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty