• News Releases

ASRT Announces Results of 2016 Election

Mar 22, 2016

Members of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists have elected three officers to serve on the 2016-2017 ASRT Board of Directors.

GarlockCorbin_A12wAmanda Garlock, M.S., R.T.(R)(MR) of Marysville, Washington, was elected to serve as ASRT's 2016-2017 president-elect. She will serve one term as president-elect, one term as president and one term as chairman of the Board, in accordance with ASRT Bylaws.

Garlock is lead MRI technologist at Evergreen Health in Kirkland, Washington. She currently serves as the Board’s vice president.

“I know it’s a cliché, but it truly is an honor to be elected president-elect of the ASRT,” Garlock said. “I’m humbled by the faith members have in my ability to lead this profession, and I aim to leave a positive, lasting impression on the profession as a whole.”

Melissa Jackowski, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(M), of Willow Spring, North Carolina, is the Board’s new vice president. She is a competency management development specialist at Siemens Healthcare in Cary, North Carolina and currently serves as secretary-treasurer.

“I am honored and excited to have been elected as vice president,” Jackowski said. “Honored because I understand the great responsibility, and excited because I have an opportunity to have a positive influence on the profession I love, on our membership and on the quality of care our patients receive.”

Johnston_Stephanie_14wStephanie Johnston, M.S.R.S, R.T.(R)(M)(BD)(BS), of Holliday, Texas, will serve as the 2016-2017 secretary-treasurer. She is director of the Breast Center of Texoma in Wichita Falls, Texas. She has previously held the roles of president and chairman, in both the Texas and New Mexico affiliate societies.

“My experience with various organizations prepared me well to serve the membership as secretary-treasurer, a position I am honored to be entrusted with,” Johnston said. “I look forward to representing the members and making the changes that will advance and strengthen the profession.”

The new officers will begin their one-year terms immediately following the conclusion of the 2016 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting, June 23-26, in Las Vegas.

Immediately following the meeting, current President-elect Michael Latimer, M.S.R.S., R.T.(R), will become the ASRT president for the 2016-2017 term, and current President Sandra Hayden, M.A., R.T.(T), FASRT, will be elevated to chairman of the Board.

Latimer is a professor in medical imaging at Palm Beach State College in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. Hayden is administrative director of radiation therapy services at the University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.

Voters also elected 29 members to serve in the ASRT House of Delegates. Terms for the newly elected chapter delegates will begin immediately following the conclusion of the 2015 House of Delegates meeting. The elected delegates are:

Bone Densitometry Chapter
Marjorie Sawyer, B.S., R.T.(R)(BD), CBDT, Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Karen Prouty, R.T.(R)(BD), Scottsbluff, Nebraska

Cardiovascular-Interventional Chapter
Victoria Sanders, M.S.R.S., R.R.A., R.T.(R)(CV), Wichita Falls, Texas
Charles Williams, B.S.R.S., R.R.A., R.T.(R)(CV)(CI), RCIS, Atlanta, Georgia

Computed Tomography Chapter
Chandra Gerrard, B.S.R.S., R.T.(R)(CT)(MR)(QM), Albuquerque, New Mexico
Carolyn Palazzolo, M.S., R.T.(R)(CT)(QM), Pittsfield, Vermont

Education Chapter
William May, M.Ed., R.T.(R), FASRT, Cookeville, Tennessee
Frances Gilman, D.H.Sc., R.T.(R)(CV)(CT)(MR), West Chester, Pennsylvania

Magnetic Resonance Chapter
Joy Cook, M.S., R.T.(R)(CT)(MR), Newburgh, Indiana
Allyson Worthington, B.S.R.T., R.T.(R)(CT)(MR), Bow, New Hampshire

Mammography Chapter
Rhonda Engebretson, B.S., R.T.(R)(M)(CT), Platte, South Dakota
Pamela Fulmer, B.A., R.T.(R)(M)(QM), Independence, Missouri

Management Chapter
Linda Holden, M.S., R.T.(R)(QM), RDMS, FASRT, Glenrock, Wyoming
Susan Castanette, A.A.S., R.T.(R)(BD), Hillsboro, Oregon

Medical Dosimetry Chapter
Stacy L. Anderson, M.S., R.T.(T), CMD, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Military Chapter
Shawn Stevenson, B.S., R.T.(R)(CT), Wahiawa, Hawaii
Geisha Patton, M.B.A., R.T.(R)(CT), APO, Armed Forces Pacific

Nuclear Medicine Chapter
Ryan Smith, D.H.Sc., M.B.A., CNMT, Findlay, Ohio
Barbara Hente, B.A., R.T.(N), CNMT, FASRT, Granite City, Illinois

Quality Management Chapter
Nancy Johnson, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(CV)(CT)(QM), FASRT, Scottsdale, Arizona
James Temme, M.P.A., R.T.(R)(QM), FASRT, Omaha, Nebraska

Radiation Therapy Chapter
Shaun Caldwell, M.S., R.T.(R)(T), Houston, Texas
Pamela Cartright, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(T), Savannah, Georgia

Radiography Chapter
Steven Cohen, R.T.(R), Brownsburg, Indiana
Diane Mayo, R.T.(R)(CT), FASRT, Florence, Mississippi

Registered Radiologist Assistant Chapter
Thomas “Wade” Carrington, B.S., R.R.A., R.T.(R)(CT), Union City, Tennessee
Elizabeth Eslich, M.S.R.S., R.R.A., R.T.(R), Irwin, Pennsylvania

Sonography Chapter
Dawn McNeil, M.S.M., R.T.(R)(M), RDMS, RVT, CRA, FASRT, Springfield, Kentucky
Tammy McSperitt, B.S.R.S., R.T.(R)(M)(CT), RDMS, Portales, New Mexico

A total of 2,352 ASRT members participated in this year’s ASRT election.

For more information about the ASRT election, visit www.asrt.org/vote.

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty