• Press Releases

ASRT Names Distinguished Author Award Winners

May 29, 2015

​The ASRT has announced the 2014 winners of the Radiologic Technology Distinguished Author Award in Honor of Jean I. Widger and the Radiation Therapist Distinguished Author Award in Honor of Harold Silverman, recognizing the best peer-reviewed articles published in ASRT’s scientific journals. Presented annually, the Widger and Silverman awards are chosen by members of each journal’s respective Editorial Review Board after a comprehensive review of all scholarly articles published in the journals during the previous calendar year.

Melissa P. Culp, B.S., R.T.(R)(MR); James R. Barba, M.A., R.T.(R); and Melissa B. Jackowski, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(M), are the winners of the Widger award for their article “Shield Placement: Effect on Exposure.” The article appeared in the March/April 2014 issue of Radiologic Technology

Culp is a faculty member for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with an interest in radiology’s contribution to sustainable global health initiatives.

Barba is a former lab director for the UNC-Chapel Hill radiologic science program who retired in January 2014 after more than 40 years in the profession.

Dr. Jackowski is the Competency Management Development Specialist at Siemens Medical Solutions USA Inc., CX USA Education Services.This study measured radiation exposure to determine ideal shield placement to protect bone marrow that is not in the primary beam during knee imaging.

Their study reinforced the notion that shielding should be used in conjunction with collimation to reduce exposure as much as possible.

Patricia Sledge Brewer, M.P.A., R.T.(R)(T); Terrence J. Ravine, Ph.D., M.T.; and Sarah E. Bru, M.S., M.T., are the winners of the Silverman award for their article “Risk of Patient Infection From Heating Appliances Used to Produce Thermoplastic Immobilization Devices.” The article appeared in the Fall 2014 issue of Radiation Therapist.

Brewer has more than 30 years of radiation therapy experience, has a master’s degree in public administration and is the radiation therapy program director for the University of South Alabama in Mobile.

Dr. Ravine has taught anatomy and physiology at the University of South Alabama for more than 10 years, and his work experience includes more than 20 years working in or directing clinical laboratory facilities in the public and private sectors.

Bru has degrees in medical technology and instructional design, as well as 21 years of experience in the clinical laboratory including work in microbiology, clinical chemistry, instruction and supervision.

Their study assessed whether appliances used to heat water for fabricating immobilization devices in the clinic carry microorganisms that present risk of disease transmission. Forty-two percent of surfaces tested positive for potentially harmful bacteria.

The Widger award is named after longtime Radiologic Technology editor Jean I. Widger. The Silverman award is named in honor of radiation therapist Harold Silverman, an advocate for accreditation of radiation therapy educational programs.

​Members will honor the recipients at the Honors Evening Reception June 27 at the ​ASRT's annual governance meeting in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty