• State Regulations and Legislation
  • ASRT Topics

North Dakota Pursues State Licensure

Jan 28, 2015
Sen. Judy Lee has introduced Senate Bill 2236 in the North Dakota Senate, a measure that will set licensing standards and expand the responsibilities of the state’s radiographers, radiation therapists, radiologist assistants, nuclear medicine technologists and sonographers. The bill is awaiting a hearing in the Senate Human Services Committee.

North Dakota currently has equipment operating regulations for radiographers, radiation therapists and nuclear medicine technologists, but the regulations are not recognized as formal licensure by the state attorney general. As a result, medical imaging technologists and radiation therapists cannot take verbal orders from physicians and other practitioners and enter them into the patient’s electronic health record. SB 2236 creates a pathway for R.T.s to assume those responsibilities.

If enacted, the state will create the State Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy Medical Examiners. The nine-person board will oversee the licensing requirements for the personnel who perform medical imaging and radiation therapy procedures. In addition, the board will be responsible for administering disciplinary measures and penalties.

We encourage medical imaging and radiation therapy professionals in North Dakota to contact their legislators in Bismarck to ask them to support SB 2236.

In addition, the North Dakota Society of Radiologic Technologists is hosting an advocacy day in the state capitol on Feb. 6, 2015, to educate lawmakers and the public about the importance of licensure standards for all of the state’s medical imaging and radiation therapy personnel. For more information about the event and SB 2236, contact Amy Hofmann at 701-391-3433, hofmannamyk@bis.midco.net, or Ann Bell-Pfeifer at 701-361-3897, abellpfeifer@gmail.com.

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty