• Press Releases

ASRT Donates $5,000 to Support Tornado Recovery Efforts

May 01, 2014
The American Society of Radiologic Technologists will donate $5,000 to the American Red Cross to assist with disaster relief efforts in the Midwest and South following tornadoes there April 25-29. The donation is on behalf of the ASRT’s 153,000 members.

“We send our deepest sympathy to everyone affected by these devastating tornadoes, especially to those who lost loved ones,” said ASRT President Julie Gill, Ph.D., R.T.(R)(QM). “We are grateful that hundreds of Red Cross volunteers are working to provide comfort and assistance, and we are proud to be able to support their efforts.”

The Red Cross is operating shelters and providing meals and supplies to communities in Alabama, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Mississippi, Tennessee and Virginia. More than 27,000 ASRT members live in these states.

In addition to the immediate donation, ASRT members and employees can make individual contributions to the disaster relief efforts through the ASRT Foundation’s Disaster Relief Matching Program. The ASRT will make a matching gift to the American Red Cross for all donations up to $5,000 made to the Disaster Relief Fund through May 16.

Based in Albuquerque, New Mexico, the ASRT is a longtime supporter of the American Red Cross. “ASRT is committed to assisting local communities affected by natural disasters,” said Chief Executive Officer Sal Martino, Ed.D., R.T.(R), FASRT, CAE. “Our members understand the importance of providing relief and assistance immediately after a disaster strikes so that individuals and families can begin moving toward recovery.”

The ASRT’s members are health care professionals who perform medical imaging examinations and provide radiation therapy treatments.

For information about how to donate, visit www.redcross.org.

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty