News Room

News, Research and Publications
News Room

  • News Releases

ASRT Names Recipients of 2019 Award for Advocacy

Apr 23, 2019

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists has awarded the 2019 ASRT Award for Advocacy to The Nevada Society of Radiologic Technologists and Diane Hutton, B.A., R.T.(R).

The Nevada Society of Radiologic Technologists has concentrated its extensive efforts on education and communication in the pursuit of a comprehensive radiologic technologist licensure bill for the state. Dedicated members have crisscrossed the state to hold awareness days and town hall-type meetings. Their impressive outreach includes speaking with students and radiologic technologists, as well as regular meetings with the Nevada Radiologic Health Department to work out solutions with all stakeholders.

Communication is an integral part of the NvSRT’s successful advocacy efforts. Frequent conference calls, statewide email blasts and meetings with legislators have helped mobilize the state’s radiologic technologists. Senate Bill 130 is currently working its way through the legislature and could see enactment in 2019.

Diane Hutton, B.A., R.T.(R), is chairman of the Legislative Activities Committee for the Missouri Society of Radiologic Technologists and a driving force in support of consistent education and certification standards for the state’s medical imaging and radiation therapy professionals. For more than five years, she has planned a series of MoSRT events that mobilize the state’s radiologic technologists to gather at the State Capitol in Jefferson City to speak one-on-one with legislators in pursuit of licensure legislation for the state.

Some of her Missouri colleagues chuckle when they say her second home is at the capitol in Jefferson City. She is there at least once a month and has testified at every hearing on R.T. licensure for years.

Established in 2003, the Award for Advocacy recognizes one affiliate society and one individual for outstanding public policy reform efforts performed on behalf of the radiologic technology community. The award highlights ASRT’s commitment to supporting radiologic technologists who defend professional standards and protect patient safety through regulatory and legislative action. The recipients are selected from nominations submitted by ASRT members.

The awards will be presented at the 2019 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting in Orlando, Florida, June 21-24.

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty