News Room

News, Research and Publications
News Room

  • News Releases

ASRT Names Distinguished Author Award Winners

Apr 22, 2019

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists has announced the recipients of the Radiologic Technology Distinguished Author Award in Honor of Jean I. Widger and the Radiation Therapist Distinguished Author Award in Honor of Harold Silverman, recognizing the best peer-reviewed articles published in ASRT’s scientific journals in 2018. Presented annually, the Widger and Silverman awards are chosen by members of each journal’s respective Editorial Review Board after a comprehensive review of all scholarly articles published in the journals during the previous calendar year.

Radiologic Technology Distinguished Author Award

Xiaoming Zheng, Ph.D.; Hsien-Wen Chiang, M.S.; Jung-Hui Li, M.S.; Hsien-Jen Chiang, M.S.; and Li-Han Lin, M.D., are the winners of the Widger award for their article “Personal Exposure Prescription Method Reduces Dose in Radiography,” which was published in the May/June 2018 issue of Radiologic Technology.

Dr. Zheng is a senior lecturer in the Medical Radiation Science, School of Dentistry and Health Sciences, Faculty of Science, for Charles Sturt University in Wagga Wagga, Australia. Hsien-Wen, Jung-Hui, Hsien-Jen, and Dr. Lin work for Kaohsiung Chang Gung Memorial Hospital, Department of Diagnostic Radiology and for Chang Gung University College of Medicine in Taiwan.

Their research sought to evaluate the effectiveness of an automatic, personalized exposure prescription method designed to reduce radiation dose during radiography examinations. Using standard imaging parameters of average-sized patients, the authors measured individual body-part thicknesses or imaging regions of 116 patients and calculated each patient’s exposure amount. The data were used to develop each patient’s personalized exposure prescription.

They found no difference in image quality between diagnostic images acquired using the prescription method and those acquired using standard protocols. The authors concluded that the personalized exposure prescription method is an effective tool for reducing radiation to patients during radiography.

Radiation Therapist Distinguished Author Award

Cheryl S. Turner, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(T); Kimberly Brown, DNP, RN, NEA-BC; Robert D. Adams, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(T), CMD; and Melissa B. Jackowski, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(M), FASRT, are the winners of the Silverman award for their article “How Do They Do It? Stress and Coping Among Radiation Therapists,” which was published in the Fall 2018 issue of Radiation Therapist.

Dr. Turner contracts in the medical devices industry, conducts research and advocates on behalf of radiation therapists. Dr. Brown is associate professor for the School of Nursing at Liberty University. Dr. Adams is assistant professor for the University of North Carolina Department of Radiation Oncology, the program director for the UNC radiation therapy and medical dosimetry education programs and a member of the UNC Healthcare Human Factors Engineering Division. Dr. Jackowski is a competency management development specialist for Siemens Healthineers, CX USA Education Services.

In an effort to better understand job-related stressors and coping mechanisms, the authors performed a qualitative study to explore the experiences of radiation therapists in select regional cancer centers. After individual interviews, online focus groups and personal journaling by the participants, they analyzed the data. Findings suggested that the radiation therapists experienced substantial stress at work, which they most often attributed to uncontrollable job situations.

In addition, they struggled to apply coping methods that would alleviate the stress. Although patients were the main motivation for participants, the increased rate of burnout among radiation therapists suggests that they are either unaware of coping strategies, reject these strategies or are unsure how to implement these strategies. They argue that what is clear is that allowing this situation to continue will ensure that radiation therapists burn out in ever higher numbers, risking their health and the quality of patient care.

The Widger award is named after longtime Radiologic Technology editor Jean I. Widger. The Silverman award is named in honor of radiation therapist Harold Silverman, an advocate for accreditation of radiation therapy educational programs.

The ASRT will honor the nine recipients June 21 at the ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting in Orlando, Florida.

To comment on this article, please log in above with your ASRT member account. See commenting guidelines.

Leave a comment

    Leave a comment

      Your comments:
      Subject to approval
    1. Comment cannot be empty